“I need my alone time”

This is something Piper started saying to us a few months ago. She would say it anytime we asked her a question, tried to talk about her day or if we were trying to discipline her! Seriously can we say three-nager! 

Kids do really say the funniest things. They can be so entertaining as well as so frustrating at the same time. She can make me laugh and cry and I love her so much it hurts my heart. Same with Sloan, I want more than anything for her to sleep at night but I can’t help but smile when I’m rocking her at 3 a.m. (I’m not smiling right away but once I’m awake I can’t help but smile when I see how content she is). 

Piper doesn’t nap anymore so on the weekends we do quiet time in her room. She usually will look at books quietly but most days she just keeps coming out whining “I miss you, I need you”. Which sounds so sweet but I can’t help but force her to go back in her room for thirty more minutes because I need my own “alone time”. 

Any other moms feel like you just don’t get any time by yourself? Piper follows me into the bathroom. I love it because I know she just wants time with her mommy but sometimes I just have to sneak in there and lock the door so I can just have a few minutes to myself. It’s the mom struggle. I know I’m so blessed but still want to feel like myself. 

Anyone else have this struggle and what do you do to get your own time in during the week? 

2 thoughts on ““I need my alone time”

  1. Once you birth a child you do not have any alone time – just moments here and there where you can catch your breath and let the good karma in and expel the bad karma out. Enjoy your exhaustion. Before you know it, those sweet girls will want nothing to do with you. In the words of my wise Granny, “You can’t rock them when they’re 21.”

    Like

  2. Once you birth a child you do not have any alone time – just moments here and there where you can catch your breath and let the good karma in and expel the bad karma out. Enjoy your exhaustion. Before you know it, those sweet girls will want nothing to do with you. In the words of my wise Granny, “You can’t rock them when they’re 21.”

    Like

Leave a comment