“This Is Us”

Have you been watching this new series? It’s seriously the best new show on TV this fall. I love how there’s a curveball at the end of the episodes (three episodes in anyway). 

I love how they show the highs and lows of daily family life and the different relationships all the kids have with the parents and each other. 

One episode that I can’t stop thinking about is from one of the flashbacks when Kevin was upset that his parents didn’t see him almost drown in the pool. His dad caught up to him aplogized and simply said “this is my first time too”. That statement caught me so off guard. “This is my first time too” puts everything into perspective for me. I have never been a parent. I truly don’t know what the hell I am doing.  Some days I just feel like I’m screwing up so much. 

Whenever I think I was getting the hang of it, Piper hits another milestone and what we have been doing stops working. Even with our second, I know I already went through this baby age with Piper but Sloan is a totally different kid and what worked for Piper doesn’t always work for Sloan.  So when I think I have this parenting thing down I get thrown a curveball that will knock me off my game. Thankfully I have B to help get me back on track. 

All in all I love being a momma. All the ups and downs all the “first times” are a blessing that I do cherish. I just wish Piper understood that this is my first time too. 

Leave a Reply

